I don't know if San Antonio Spurs guard Manu Ginobili is a Johnny Cash fan or not, but he took the rock legend's lyrics to heart during a highlight possession during Sunday's win against the Toronto Raptors.
When trapped against the sideline on a fast break, Ginobili bounced the ball through DeMar DeRozan's legs, ran over the sideline, back inbounds and finished the play in typical Manu style.
While most of Manu's crafty moves, including his Wizards fakeout and circus-style layup seem unfair to unsuspecting defenders, this particular highlight was actually against NBA rules, according to Rule 10 – Section II – b of the NBA case book (via the Point Forward).
When dribbling, Player A1 steps out-of-bounds but is not in contact with the ball. He then returns inbounds and continues his dribble. Is this legal or illegal?Illegal. Player A1 cannot be the first player to touch the ball after going out-of-bounds, until it is touched by another player on the court.
In a game that went to double overtime, I'm surprised to have not heard much of an uproar coming from Canada over a clear missed call by officials.
But can you blame the officiating crew for becoming spectators on yet another awe-inspiring Ginobili play, regardless of whether or not it was a violation?