Tim Duncan Elected to Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame


Saturday, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced that Spurs legend Tim Duncan has been named to the 2020 class.

Along with Duncan, here were the other inductees, 18-time NBA All-Star and five-time NBA champion Kobe Bryant, 15-time NBA All-Star and nine-time NBA All-Defensive First Team selection Kevin Garnett, four-time National Coach of the Year Eddie Suttontwo-time NBA Champion coach Rudy Tomjanovich, 10-time WNBA All-Star, and four-time Olympic gold medalist Tamika Catchings, three-time NCAA National Championship Coach of Baylor Kim Mulkey, five-time Division II National Coach of the Year Barbara Stevens and longtime FIBA executive Patrick Baumann.

Duncan becomes the third Spurs player in franchise history to be elected to the Hall of Fame, joining former teammate David Robinson and another Spurs legend in George Gervin.

Duncan spent all of his 19-NBA career years with the Spurs while guiding them to five NBA championships and six NBA Finals runs.

Duncan had a total of 15 All-NBA and 15 All-Defensive team selections while also being named a 15-time All-Star. Duncan won two MVP awards and he was the 1998 NBA Rookie of the year. During three of the Spurs’ five championship titles, Duncan was selected as the Finals MVP during three of those championships.

Here was Duncan earlier Saturday on being elected to the Hall of Fame:

And here was Duncan on his career:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

six − 4 =