How to watch Langford Rugby 7s: Date, start time, TV channel for Women’s sevens

0
HSBC Canada Women's Sevens in Langford
image credit: World Rugby

The Australia 7s Wallabies have won three of the first four stops of the women’s HSBC World Rugby 7s Series. Returning to action for the first time since January, the 11 teams joining Australia will make their push to catch up in the standings. It all resumes this weekend at Starlight Stadium in Canada for the Langford stop on the schedule. Will the 2018 series champions stay on top, or will the New Zealand 7s’ return to the competition change the landscape? You’ll have to watch the 2022 HSBC Women’s Rugby 7s Langford Cup this weekend, starting on Saturday, April 30, 2022.

Langford Rugby 7s live stream and Start time

  • When: Saturday, April 30 – Sunday, May 1, 2022
  • Start Time: 12:30 p.m. EST / 30 a.m. PST
  • Location: Starlight Stadium – Langford, Canada
  • How to Watch: Stream anywhere

You can watch HSBC Canada Women’s Sevens in Langford live stream Rugby 7s complete tournament games via PremiumTV from anywhere in the world.

With the impact of the global COVID-2019 pandemic stretching for the better part of the last two years, it has continued to be felt this year around the world, limiting some teams from participating in international competitions. That, along with Russia’s aggression in Ukraine, has led to interesting scoring adaptations for the 2022 Series. First, the “COVID-specific Series points system” allows teams to factor their best four tournament points into their final Series total. Since the Series went on hiatus in January, Russia has been removed from the final third of the season. Currently sitting in third, their point total will eventually be reduced down to 37 by the end of the season.

HSBC Canada Women’s Sevens 2022 in Langford preview

Of the 12 teams that will compete on Saturday at the 2022 HSBC Rugby 7s Langford Cup, only eight will advance to Sunday’s playoff with a chance to win. Australia is certainly a favorite to advance, and likely win the stop, but on their heels will be Ireland and England, the other top finishers at Seville in July. Even the United States has a recent gold, taking first place at the previous stop in Malaga. Of course, the return of New Zealand to the competition pool is one to keep an eye on, while Fiji and Canada could also work themselves into Sunday play as well. Fiji has twice taken silver in 2022, while the Canadians will home to benefit from home advantage.

For first place, 20 points are awarded to the victors, which would be enough to push France closely behind Australia. After starting the Series with bronze finishes in Dubai for the first two legs of the season, double-digit point totals in the last two stops have kept them in second place overall. It is more likely than much else, however, that they will be one of the teams to really feel the return of New Zealand and a rebound from Fiji, should the Pacific nations find the podium again. All of the potentials make it that more interesting in how the Pool round is currently divided and scheduled.

Competing in Pool A is Australia along with Canada, Spain, and Mexico. Pool B has a top-heavy grouping of Ireland and France followed by Brazil and Japan. The competition will see a top contender eliminated early as England, Fiji, New Zealand, and the United States will battle for the maximum of three spots available from Pool C.

Rugby 7s Langford 2022 Team USA Women’s Fixture Schedule

Pool C – Saturday, April 30, 2022

  • USA 7s vs Fiji 7s – 12:30 p.m. EST / 9:30 a.m. PST
  • USA 7s vs New Zealand 7s – 3:34 p.m. EST / 12:34 PST
  • England 7s vs USA 7s – 7 p.m. EST / 4 p.m. PST

Playoff – Sunday, May 1, 2022 (Teams TBD)

  • Cup Quarterfinal 1 – 1 p.m. EST / 10 a.m. PST
  • Cup Quarterfinal 2 – 1:22 p.m. EST / 10:22 a.m. PST
  • Cup Quarterfinal 3 – 1:44 p.m. EST / 10:44 a.m. PST
  • Cup Quarterfinal 4 – 2:06 p.m. EST / 11:06 a.m. PST
  • Fifth Place Semifinal 1 – 4:06 p.m. EST / 1:06 p.m. PST
  • Fifth Place Semifinal 2 – 4:28 p.m. EST / 1:28 p.m. PST
  • Cup Semifinal 1 – 4:50 p.m. EST / 2:44 p.m. PST
  • Cup Semifinal 2 – 5:12 p.m. EST / 2:12 p.m. PST
  • Fifth Place Playoff – 7:01 p.m. EST / 4:01 p.m. PST
  • Cup Bronze Final – 7:28 p.m. EST / 4:28 p.m. PST
  • Cup Final – 7:58 p.m. EST / 4:58 p.m. PST