Gregg Popovich named 2013-14 Coach of the Year

Gregg Popovich was named the 2013-14 Coach of the Year, the NBA announced.

Popovich earned 58 first-place votes for a total of 380 points. Jeff Hornacek finished second with 339 points.

Popovich earned his third Coach of the Year award, joining Pat Riley and Don Nelson as the only coaches with at least three Coach of the Year awards. Popovich won in 2011-12 and 2002-03.

Popovich led the Spurs to a league best 62-20 record despite having to incorporate 17 different Spurs into the starting lineup. They set franchise records in winning streak (19), 3-pointers (698), road wins (30) and effective field goal percentage (53.7) this season. San Antonio clinched a 17th straight playoff berth, the longest active streak in the NBA. The 2013-14 Spurs are the only team in NBA history without a single player averaging 30+ minutes per game.

The Spurs led the league in point differential (per 100 possessions), outscoring their opponents by 8.1 points. They were sixth in offensive rating and fourth in defensive rating, respectively.

With Rick Adelman retiring, Popovich leads all active coaches with 967 wins. The Spurs’ 70.6 winning percentage in his 17-year tenure is the highest percentage in NBA history.

A press conference at 1 p.m. CST will officially announce the award.

(Photo via @spurs)

Quixem Ramirez

About Quixem Ramirez

Quixem Ramirez is the sports editor for the University Star, the content editor for Toros Nation, and a staff writer for Project Spurs. He enjoys basketball and pie -- sometimes in that order.