Blair named to Rookie Challenge roster

DeJuan BlairTim Duncan won’t be the only Spurs player representing San Antonio in Dallas for next month’s All-Star festivities.

Today, the NBA announced that Spurs forward DeJuan Blair has been selected to play on the rookie squad of the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam, Friday, February 12.

Blair has been averaging 7.1 points and 6.6 rebounds per game through the first half of his rookie year, which has included 20 starts.

Blair will be joined by Omri Casspi, Stephen Curry, Tyreke Evans, Jonny Flynn, Taj Gibson, James Harden, Brandon Jennings and Jonas Jerebko.

The sophomore squad will be made up of Michael Beasley, Marc Gasol, Danilo Gallinari, Eric Gordon, Brook Lopez, Kevin Love, O.J. Mayo, Derrick Rose and Russell Westbrook.

Rosters were selected by the leagues assistant coaches. For the full announcement, head over to

About Michael A. De Leon

Michael founded Project Spurs in 2004. He started The Spurscast, the first Spurs podcast on the Internet, in 2005. Michael has been interviewed by the BBC, SportTalk, the Sports Reporters Radio Show, MemphisSportLive, OKC Sports Wrap and ESPN radio among others. He is a credentialed member of the media for the San Antonio Spurs and Austin Toros. He is also the founder of Project Spurs' sister sites, Toros Nation and Stars Hoops.